Travel Journal demo

This morning I attended a Travel Journal demo at Daniel Smith Bellevue.  Molly Hashimoto talked about her methods and kit for sketching.

MollyH

The first thing I noticed before class was the size of her sketchbooks. You can see some stacked to the right in the above photo.   They were being passed around.  She uses a 10×14 inch Arches hard backed spiral bound sketchbook available at DS.  DS also sells the more portable 10×7 size.  They are expensive but she said the paper is excellent.

Her favorite color at the moment is Perylene Green (PBk31; Series 2; lightfastness 1)  The store manager did a quick drawing for a tube.  I didn’t win it but I did later buy some!

The kit she takes on hikes is very small: a pen, a tiny Windsor Newton palette, a Moleskine watercolor book and a water brush.  For plein air she uses a larger palette, the large sketchbook and her brushes in a case, all fit around a camping chair.

She recommended starting the painting with the lightest values.

She has a calendar and other items published by Pomegranate Publications, which is linked from her website.

For someone who is new to drawing and wants to learn, especially archetectural drawing, she recommended Freehand Sketching by Paul Laseau.    He also wrote Watercolor Sketching

Cindy has moved from Daniel Smith Seattle  to manage the  store in Bellevue.  She said she and the manager of Seattle store will be bringing back demos.  I’m glad, as I’d noticed the lack of them over the summer.

I had come armed with a list of replacement colors I needed so rewarded the hosting of the demo by spending money!  I’d decided to try the watercolor sticks for those colors available as sticks.  With their permission, I also hung in the classroom the large poster for the Edmonds Urban Sketchers show.  I’ll post more about that as we get closer to October.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel Journal demo

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Thanks for the summary of this demo… I’ve seen it offered several times but have never been able to get to it. And I had been wondering why I hadn’t seen much offered at the Seattle store. Hope to see more demos there soon.

Leave a Reply

