Sketching in Kent

It was a beautiful morning:  bright, sunny, cool…. a perfect autumn day.  So I just had to go out to sketch.  I’d made a couple clippings from the newspaper of possible locations so that is where I went today.

The Saar Pioneer Cemetery was on the way.  There are 86 graves without markers.  Historical documents show they were buried at Saar Pioneer Cemetery.  I went to see a sculptural commemoration of these burials called “Thresholds”.  Unfortunately, I was too late as it had been dismantled two weeks ago.  The cemetery was established in 1873.  The last person was buried there in 1949.

Since the sculpture was no longer there, I sketched an interesting fenced grave plot.  It belongs to the Monster family. 

Baby Monster lived a little over 3 months but seems to have died without being named.  One wonders about the rest of the story.

I drove on to the Carpinito Brothers Pumpkin Patch and Corn Maze.  There was also a vegetable stand where I bought some leeks.  I also bought a medium sized pumpkin and some mums for my front yard pots as the summer annuals need replacing.

I sketched the pumpkins and the corn maze entrance:

I stopped, also, at the Carpinito Brothers store in Kent.  It is a very large vegetable stand and farmers’ market.  I think I might shop there in future.

I was home by 1330.  Given that it was still a beautiful day, I felt obligated to do some yard work.  I cut back 50 feet of blackberries.  I had to take the powered hedge trimmer to them.  They were stronger than the string trimmer could handle!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketching in Kent

  1. redharparts says:

    I did a bit of searching and found this tidbit of information about Baby Monster:
    http://selinker.livejournal.com/38514.html

Leave a Reply

