Move In Day for Electra

Today was move-in day for the Lockheed Electra that is the only one in the world configured exactly like that of the Electra with which Amelia Earhart made her attempt to fly around the world.

Museum of Flight page on the installation of the Electra

New Museum of Flight ad featuring the Electra.   I think it’s amusing.

I arrived at 730, which was the time we were told the Electra would be moved.  What I didn’t consider was that it would take some time before she actually moved across the airfield.  So, while I waited and it rained, I sketched some “evicted” jets from my car.  On Thursday and Friday, the Museum moved out all the aircraft in the section of the Great Gallery well where the Electra would be placed.

Once the Electra was safely inside the Museum, the wheels were placed on dollies so it could be pushed across the Gallery.  This took quite a bit of time, allowing me to get a sketch:

Here are a few of my photos of this event:

This is what it looked like in the Great Gallery with all the other aircraft removed.  Electra is to go in the corner on the far right of this photo.

Electra was towed by the tail wheel.

On the street, about to make her final approach through the Gallery doors:

Will she fit?

NOPE!  They removed one wing tip.

Final push into place:


I culled 130 images down to 38.  They are all here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Move In Day for Electra

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Cool that you got to see all this and had time to sketch it, too!

  2. Pingback: Amelia | Red Harp Arts

Leave a Reply

