Beer and dead salmon

It was a beautiful fall day, if a bit chilly in the morning.  I started in Columbia City, a neighborhood south of Seattle.  I’ve like the Columbia City Ale House.  It was one of the first places to eat when this neighborhood started to gentrify.  I stood across the street to sketch it.  The light was flat as some fog still hung about.

I ate the lunch I’d packed and then drove out in search of another place to sketch.  I’d never seen Seward Park, which was near by.   I sat near the shore of Lake Washington to sketch a dead salmon I found there.

There were lots of gulls and mallard ducks.  The ducks were very tame and came right up to me, probably expecting food.  The gulls occasionally pecked on the salmon.  I’ll spare you the icky photos of the dead salmon.

Arches Field Watercolor Book.  I also used Peggy’s splatter technique!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beer and dead salmon

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Hey, you were close to my old ‘hood! I grew up a few miles north of Seward Park. Nice sketch of the ale house and good use of the splatter technique.

  2. Sigrid says:

    So many great places to discover in Seattle. I think I am going to come back for a full sketching weekend sometime. Oh, and to do cheese shopping. I am Canadian, after all. 😉

Leave a Reply

