Letter-less

I did not make the effort to see the reproduction Rainier Beer “R” as it was trucked across Seattle yesterday.  I went over to the site of the old brewery hoping to see it this morning.  I didn’t really expect  I would as I thought it would be safely warehoused until the raising tomorrow night.  The Seattle Times has a photo essay on its travel:  “The Rainier Beer ‘R’ Crawl”

I did sketch the colorful and angular building.  The signs are a bit of photo collage.

This is the statue depicted in the Rainier Beer sign.

Then I went over to 1st Ave. to sketch the Starbucks Corporate Headquarters.  It’s a large building with other commercial venders housed in it, too.  But I only sketched the top, with the Starbucks logo sculpture:

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letter-less

  1. miatagrrl says:

    What great Seattle icons you sketched today! I didn’t even know about the sculpture. And after the new R is in place, you can sketch that. I’d like to.

  2. redharparts says:

    Let’s plan another sketch outing around it.

Leave a Reply

