Sketches

As the weather gets colder and wetter, I’ve decided I still want to sketch everyday.  Some locations lend themselves to sketching from the car but it’s still chilly.  A coffee shop might offer a view but there aren’t many (any) with a view in my immediate area.

I’m using the Aquabee Super Deluxe 9″x6″ sketchbook.  The paper is only 93 pounds (150gsm).  I’m using lighter watercolor washes than I do on location so it only buckles a little.

Even though they will not meet the criteria of Urban Sketchers, I thought I would continue to sketch what is around me, such as objects around the house. Danny Gregory’s Everyday Matters and various illustrated journals are inspirations.

I’ve sketched this bunny before.  This was a day or so before I went to Steamcon so I added a bowler and glasses to her Victorian-ish dress.

I also thought to embark on sketching some of my old family photos.  This was taken in 1914 on the farm where my mother was raised.  This is my grandmother holding my 1 year old mother.   The photo is black and white.  I’ve added a bit of color, guessing at what it should be.  I really like the long, white Victorian dress my grandmother wears.  I wish it still existed!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Studio. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sketches

  1. digigirl says:

    Love that sketch of your grandmother!

  2. miatagrrl says:

    I have a hard time getting inspired to sketch at home, even though I’ve read Everyday Matters and try to sketch ordinary objects. But the old photo idea has possibilities. I’ve done a little of that, and it can be a wonderful way to be reacquainted with long-gone family members. I love this old photo-sketch of your mother and grandmother… and the subjects of your two sketches in this post are of the same era! 🙂

Leave a Reply

