Home made sketch book

My sketching friend, Tina, has lots of creative ideas for her sketching kit.  She ordered a thick leather folio from an Etsy seller.  She puts a signature or two of paper in it.  She calls it The Stefano This is somewhat less weight and bulk than carrying around a sketchbook.  Once she has enough signatures completed, she binds them into a book to hold the sketches on a shelf.   Bound books 

I’ve been tempted to order the “Tina” folder from Stefano but it’s nearly $100 with shipping from Europe!

In the meantime, I will try this method with a much cheaper sketch folder.  If I like it, then I might just get “The Stefano/The Tina”.

front cover with my badge/maker’s mark as sticker

This is made from 2 pieces of thick mat board cut to be a bit larger than my folded 140 pound Arches cold press watercolor paper, about 8.5 x 6.6 inches (21 x 16.5 cm).  I’ve attached the 2 pieces with contact paper, though I think it would be better done with glued book cloth.  This folder is thick enough to offer enough support for drawing, even while standing.

I then used a tightly tied length of beading elastic to hold the paper signature in place.  It is threaded through two small holes at top and bottom.

The signature is just 2 pages due to the heavy paper.

Tina has used coptic binding.  Since the book doesn’t have to stand up to anything but sitting on a shelf and occasional perusal, I might just use perfect binding.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home made sketch book

  1. miatagrrl says:

    That’s a great way to check out my “Stefano” system to see if you like it! Another idea is to check out the Flickr groups and blogs that talk about the Midori Traveler’s Notebook and similar knock-off notebooks. People are doing really creative things to make their own Midori-like notebooks — even offering instructions and templates. You might get some ideas on making your own.

Leave a Reply

