8 November NaNoDrawMo

Friday morning I took my husband to his 24 hour post cataract surgery appointment and did 3 sketches in while waiting in the clinic.   His f/u was fine.  Couldn’t upload the sketches, though, as flickr was behaving badly last night and then still was early this morning!

First was the children’s waiting area.  It was waiting for children.

Next was a very quick ink sketch of a woman sitting next to me.  I took about 5 minutes.  We were very close, so it was a bit of a risk.  If she noticed, she didn’t let on.  Didn’t color it as she moved away to sit with a friend.

I was still waiting after almost and hour, so I thought there might be time to catch the view out the third floor window, looking down on a glass awning for the pick up and drop off area.

Later, I drove up to Edmonds to help take down the Urban Sketchers show at Cafe Louvre.  I was just 15 minutes late due to traffic and they already had it down.  I was staying in the North until 7pm as I intended to go to a talk and book signing at Third Place Books.  So I stopped for a burger at Dick’s and did another sketch.

I didn’t sketch the author as she constantly paced back and forth.  She said she can’t talk to an audience without doing so as she developed the practice when she was a university lecturer.  It was her method of making sure the students were awake!  If their gaze followed her back and forth, she knew she had their attention.  This would not have worked on me though, as I took a lot of notes in college so my head would have been down while I wrote…. or these days, looked at my computer screen!

Gail Carriger taking questions

and signing her new book, Curtsies & Conspiracies

The books are in the Steampunk genre, so people came in costume.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in NaNoDrawMo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 November NaNoDrawMo

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Another day of prolific sketches! That quick portrait is really nice!

Leave a Reply

