From the 73rd floor

A small group of sketchers got together to go up to the 73rd floor of the Columbia Tower.

“The Sky View Observatory is located on the 73rd floor of Columbia Center. At nearly 1,000 feet it offers the tallest public viewing area west of the Mississippi. The 360 degree panoramic view includes Mt. Baker, Bellevue, the Cascade Mountains, Mt. Rainier, Elliott Bay, the Olympic Mountains, the Space Needle and the city of Seattle”
“Columbia Center, with its innovative structure composed of three interlocking concave facades, is an instantly recognizable landmark on the Seattle skyline.  Occupying a full city block in the heart of Seattle’s financial district, the 943 foot tower offers spectacular views”

I left home earlier than I needed for our meeting time but in order to get parking at the Park & Ride, which seems to fill up by 0830-0900.  Thus, I arrived in the city about an hour early.  I wandered through Seattle City Hall, which I’ve never explored before.  I sketched this sculpture

“Evolving Wing and Gravity of Presence”; sculpture by Eric Robertson 2003;  A visual journey about honor, connection, contradiction and continuum.

This waterfall starts indoors and continues outside and down the side walk.

Columbia Center from street level:

It was a very dark, wet day with low clouds.  We could barely seen Bellevue across Lake Washington.  Even so, the view was spectacular.  I’ve never been up the tower before and was just in awe.  I would like to see it on a sunny day some time.  Here are the stadiums from the 73rd floor:

My first sketch from up there was looking down on the Smith Tower, which used to be the tallest building in Seattle.

Then I sketched the ferry dock with Puget Sound in the background.

I wasn’t very satisfied with that sketch, so I tried it again, just focusing on Alki Point and the Sound.

As is usual, we shared out sketches

Tina, Peggy, Natalie, Lynne, Me

All the photos are here. 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Daily Sketches, NaNoDrawMo, Photography, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

