Book Ferry

I made a trip down to Tinkertopia in Tacoma.  It’s a store in which to let your imagination run wild.  They have all kinds of stuff for sale and a crafting space to upcycle said stuff into interesting crafts.   I added to their collection with a big bag of stuff to donate!

While there, I noticed they have a Little Free Library!  It’s an official one and is housed on a cart.  This cart has a sculpture of a famous local ferry so it’s the “Book Ferry”.  I decided to try out my new tiny sketch folder.  It’s about 3×5 inches and I just added some 90 pound Fabriano watercolor paper to it.  This is the first time I’ve used it but I like how the paper performed.  It’s better than the 93 pound sketchbook I used for many of my NaNoDrawMo sketches.  It didn’t buckle and it took the paint well.

Here is some info on that poor old ferry.  It is currently in very poor repair and faces an uncertain future.  “MV Kalakala was notable for her unique streamlined superstructure, art deco styling, and luxurious amenities. The vessel was a popular attraction for locals and tourists, and was voted second only to the Space Needle in popularity among visitors to Seattle during the 1962 Seattle World’s Fair. The ship is known as the world’s first streamlined vessel for her unique art deco styling…. [The name] was said to mean “bird” in the Pacific Northwest Native American trade language Chinook Jargon”.   It’s website   is a year and a half out of date.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Ferry

  1. hap newsom says:

    Glad you visited Tacoma! If you’re doing watercolor (or anything else for that matter) you might be interested in the group that meets every Thursday at the Fife Community Center (just off I-5 in Fife) 10-1 for painting group. Not instruction, just a social gathering of folks who like to do art. Free, lots of room and good company! Would love for you to drop in sometime!!

  2. Glad you found one of my favorite places run by some of my favorite people. BTW, the Kalakala is still moored in the Hylebos Waterway. I created this photo of it just a week or so ago.. http://www.flickr.com/photos/92222213@N04/10990677846/ and this one a few days later at sunset. http://www.flickr.com/photos/92222213@N04/10990677846/ If you are interested in painting the real thing, I recommend finding a vantage point using Google Maps… there is a yard that sells bark (it’s painted on their roof) off of Marine View Drive where you can get access to the dock I was on.

Leave a Reply

