Flying trip to LA

I haven’t posted the last few days because my husband and I were on a brief trip to Los Angeles. Unfortunately, it was for the memorial for his favorite Aunt.  It was a sad trip but we got to see his family who we have not seen in years.  Isn’t that often the case?   We also took the opportunity of the trip to see a few friends from the time when we lived there.

Thus, there was no time for sketching, except in the airports.  This was done on Friday, waiting at SeaTac.  It fit last week’s theme for USK, people using cell phones.  It was a very monochrome scene, with his black clothes and the black chair.  But the brightly colored trim on his shoes added just a pop of color!

Next is my window view while we stopped at Salt Lake City.  We didn’t have to change planes, so I had time to do this while we waited.

Lastly, this is an ink drawing done in the airport at Las Vegas.  Of course, there is gambling everywhere.  I didn’t have time to paint it and, frankly, don’t think I want to do so later.  The lights atop the slot machines were very colorful, though.

We got home in the evening last night.  Now I’m just getting caught up with scanning and looking at what everyone else did with their weekend.  I’m disappointed I had to miss the Gage Drawing Jam.  Many people from the local sketchers group went and posted excellent drawings.  Next year, I hope…..

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flying trip to LA

  1. Tina says:

    Nice sketch of the guy on his phone… You got the posture just right! We missed you at the Jam… I’m already looking forward to next year!

Leave a Reply

