Next year’s Christmas card!

The Seattle Urban Sketchers met for the regular sketch outing at the relatively newly renovated King Street Station.   I took the opportunity of holiday decor to sketch what may be next year’s Christmas card!

8×10 on 140 pound Strathmore 400 series watercolor paper; Carbon Black Ink, Daniel Smith watercolors.

I had about 45 minutes left, so I quickly sketched view from outside.

About 5×7 on 140 pound Arches; Carbon Black Ink, Daniel Smith watercolors and Watercolor pencils.

After 2 1/2 hours sketching, we met back up to share our work and to have the usual group photo.

All the rest of the photos are here.

Two more quick sketches:

I’d arrived early on the light rail, so I stopped at Zeitgeist coffee.  I had a quick warming beverage and a sketch of some patrons.  Just an ink sketch as I didn’t have time to add watercolor.

Carbon Black ink on 3×5 90 pound Fabiano Watercolor paper

Then on the train home, I sat next to the stowed stroller with its colorful pack of flowers!

Carbon Black ink; Daniel Smith watercolors, watercolor pencil on about 3×5 90 pound Fabiano watercolor paper

It was a fun sketch outing with a chance to briefly meet some new sketchers.  And it was productive.  Four sketches in one day!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Next year’s Christmas card!

  1. Judi Nyerges says:

    Wow! FOUR sketches in one day! You are a miracle worker. I am lucky to get one finished. And they are GOOD to boot!

  2. Tina says:

    A productive day, indeed! I love the holiday one… It’ll make a great card next year.

Leave a Reply

