Gabi’s show opening

I attended the opening event.  From the website:  “MOHAI’s exhibition, Drawn to Seattle: The Work of Seattle Sketcher Gabriel Campanario, featuring sketches from the award-winning Seattle Times blog and weekly column, “Seattle Sketcher.”   

Gabi gave a brief talk and then led tours of the exhibit.I sketched him during the talk:

The big toe from the “Toe Truck” is in the foreground.  The projection screen is a bit of photo collage

There were several Seattle Urban Sketchers sketching around the museum during the event.

David sketching; in the background (in green sweater) is Jane

Gabi’s talk during the opening

I’d seen a few photos from the exhibit.  But I wasn’t prepared for how huge it is.  There are at least a couple hundred drawings spanning quite a few room sized spaces. There are two cases of sketchbooks from other Seattle Urban Sketchers.

Mine is the small one in the middle on the right. It’s not my favorite sketch in that book.

I’m going to join the Museum just so I can go back a few times.  I’m already scheduled for a couple sketching events there.  The Seattle Urban Sketchers will be there for our regluar monthly sketch outing together on the 19th.  I am scheduled to do one of the “Urban Sketchers in Residence”  on 25 January.

All the photos from the event are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

