MOHAI again

For the second time this month the Seattle Urban Sketchers visited the Museum of History and Industry (MOHAI).  This time it was our regularly monthly sketch outing.

The reason for this sketch outing and the 2 visits this month is the continuing exhibit by Urban Sketchers founder and the “Seattle Sketcher: Gabriel Campanario.  The exhibit is called “Drawn to Seattle: The Work of Seattle Sketcher” 

I took the light rail in intending get the rest of the way from downtown Seattle’s Westlake center to MOHAI via the trolly.  Except I discovered it wasn’t running at 0900.  So I walked the rest of the way with another woman I found puzzling over the map at the trolly stop.

It seemed like we were every where around the Museum.  I think I count 6 in this photo:

This was the perfect place to sketch the global Urban Sketcher’s weekly theme, “old machines”.  So I picked one of the many on display, this Ramage printing press from the early 1880’s.  The card near it read, “Made in Philadelphia, this hand-cranked press was popular with newpaper publishers out West: it was light, simple and well-made.  After rounding the Horn on a ship, it printed pioneer newspapers in California, Oregon, Alaska – and Washington”.

There was little information about the dress on the mannequin next to it.  It is cotton and described as “perfect for the hopeful Mercer Girl making her way to frontier-town Seattle”.

Next I joined Carleen at the wonderful view windows in the Drawn to Seattle exhibit area.  They are designed so visitors can try their own hand at sketching the scenes out the windows.

This is a tiny 3×5 sketch of some buildings under construction, the ubiquitous cranes and the 12th man flag.  Today is game day for the Seahawks and the one that determines whether they go to the Super Bowl.

There was a huge group of Urban Sketchers today.  As usual, we gathered to show our sketches and take a group photo.  I couldn’t get everyone in!

It took 4 tables together to show our sketches

Given that the game started at 1530 and it was, by now, 1300, I decided to avoid the crush on the light rail to the stadium and stayed at MOHAI a little longer.  Over lunch, I had an interesting conversation with three people new to Urban Sketchers…. John, Kyle and Jennifer.

Then I did one more sketch.  These are feet under the sculpture called “Wawona”.It is named for the 165 foot long historic schooner built in 1896 and dismantled in 2009.  This sculpture is carved from it’s wood.  A section of it is below the floor into Lake Union.  People can stand inside and look down into the lake.

This is also in my tiny, homemade,  3×5 sketchbook.  I really like the 90 pound Fabiano cold press watercolor paper.

The rest of the photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

