Good Bones

Wow.  I’m still taking it all in.  Yesterday I attended Stephanie Bower’s “Good Bones” workshop, session 1 (of 3).  The topic was perspective.  I learned more about perspective in this day than I have in any other venue!  I’ve tried videos and books but today just clicked!

This workshop is held over 3 separate Saturdays.  There is another one coming up over one weekend in March but it’s also full.  She has said she might do a third.  Her personal blog:  http://www.stephaniebower.blogspot.com/  I highly recommend this workshop so, if you are interested, also watch the the Urban Sketchers Workshop page.

Going over my notes, I find a few of Stephanie’s comments that are worthwhile quotes:
“Always know where your eye level is in your sketch.  Draw it in every time”  I found it more understandable and useful to think of it as the eye level than the horizon line.
“It doesn’t have to be perfect; it just has to be believable”
“Draw what you know in addition to what you see”.  There was one sketch in which I was convinced the line should not be as steep.  She said the eye can be fooled.  I held you pen on a line to the place in the scene that was the vanishing point, I saw that the line was steeper than I thought.
“Don’t cover the Vanishing Point”  She suggested making the most detail around that point.

In other workshops I’ve taken, I found I struggled so much with the new technique being taught that I didn’t make any sketches I wanted to share.  Today I have two.  There were several more, but they were done in the classroom session, from her photos.

This is in the “Sanitary Market”.  It’s across the street from Pike Place Market and that’s what it’s called.

The next is from our coffee break/sketching session at Storyville Coffee, on the 3rd floor of that same market building.

This is a quick sketch I did of the view out the window, while waiting for the workshop to start.  There’s another 12th man flag!

A few photos taken during the workshop:

Stephanie teaching from a slide

sketching in the market

 

Stephanie discussing sketches

All the photos are here.  But here are three showing how crazy it is in Seattle with Super Bowl fever and fervor!

The Great Wheel lit up in Seahawks green

Rachel the Piggy Bank, Pike Place Market’s mascot and fundraiser, has her game face on.

KOMO News filming at the Market.  I didn’t realize until I looked at the website that the clock was stopped at 12 Noon on Saturday.  It won’t be started again until after the Super Bowl.   It’s another gesture of 12th Man support.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Bones

  1. Very informative post! Like the slide image that shows eye level and the suggestion to draw it in. A recent painting challenged me which had several hills and various planes of perspective as seen in my latest blog post. Keep up the wonderful sketching!!

  2. Hi Kate, thank you so much for this wonderful post!!! I’m so glad things “clicked” for you, that was my hope. It was great to see you and others start to integrate the information into your sketches, I look forward to seeing many more from you–your sketches are wonderful!!!
    Stephanie

  3. miatagrrl says:

    Impressive results, Kate! I’m excited for you — AND for myself in March!

Leave a Reply

