Mrs. W’s Bell

I had the one week follow up to eye surgery and recovery is progressing well.  However, since I had the eye numbed and dilated, I didn’t feel like going out to sketch on location.  The weather is wet but warmer, so maybe some car sketching soon.

This is a bell with a Canterbury Cross.  I bought it as a gift for a friend’s mother, who collected bells.  I lived in England for a year and wanted to bring her back something meaningful for her collection.  Many years later she gave it back to me as she was down sizing.  She died some years ago but I still think of her when I see this bell.

This was done on some new 90 pound Arches cold press paper.  It’s still a little too textured for this kind of visual journal work.  It’s hard to write on.  I think the best paper might be the 90 pound Fabiano cold press as it is just a bit smoother.

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mrs. W’s Bell

  1. Tina says:

    I’m enjoying these “object portraits” of special objects. Are you having buckling issues with 90 lb.? I’ve had problems with it. Now that I’ve been using 140 lb. for several months, I don’t think I can go back to 90 or 100.

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks, Tina. The 90 lb buckles ever so slightly, so it doesn’t actually cause a problem. I’m going to try Fabiano 140 pound, if the texture is similar to the 90 pound, which I like very much.

Leave a Reply

