APCC

Yesterday Urban Sketchers Tacoma  had an informational booth at the Asian Pacific Cultural Center‘s New Year celebration in the  Tacoma Dome Exhibition Hall.

The four administrators took turns staffing the booth and other sketchers came to sketch the event and send interested people to the booth.  Eli sat at the booth as a monitor, keeping watch on our items as we talked to visitors.

There were a lot of people.  About mid-day, the aisles were so crowded it was hard to move.  We had lots of people stop at our booth and have a large collection of contact info for people interested in joining us.

I did a few sketches.  Before the event opened to the public, I sketched the stage with the asian drums.

During the opening ceremony, I sat right in front of the sound guys so I could sketch them.

At the end of the day, I sketched the Shen Zen tea sales booth next to us.  Their logo is a bit of collage added to the page.  James told me he designed and painted the logo.  Not bad for a guy with a degree in Biology and Chemistry!

I took a little time to do some tasting and actually bought one of his teas.  It was very good.  James hand blends the tea here in Seattle.

Our booth.

Rom finishing a sketch. He’s drawing with a stick.

Dragon Dance. It’s blurred, but I rather like the effect.

A few more photos are here.

It was a very long day.  I was up at 5am.  We met at Frances’ house at 7am to put all the booth equipment and display items in her big van.  All 5 of us were able to all fit in one vehicle so we got close parking in the vendor lot.  I got home about 7pm.  I went to bed at 9:30pm!

One thing we learned:  bring ear plugs.  The sound system was at least twice as loud as it needed to be.  I could feel it, which means we were all sustaining some hearing damage!

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to APCC

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Thanks for all the work you guys did! It was a great booth, and you were all terrific ambassadors for USk.

Leave a Reply

