War of the Roses

The weather mostly continues to be chilly and rainy.  Over the past few days, I’ve been binge-watching The White Queen on DVD from Netflix.  It takes place in the time of Edward IV, who is York in the War of the Roses.

The White Rose is York (Yorkshire).  The Red Rose is Lancaster.  These are accurate heraldic roses.  I used to paint in the style of illuminated manuscripts and coats of arms.  So I do know a bit about heraldic charges.

Way back in the late 1970’s, I lived and studied a year in Yorkshire.  I was at Leeds but took the train to York at least a couple weekends a month.  Just due to that, I’m partial to York.  Well, except for Richard III.  Every so often, I still wear the white rose.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to War of the Roses

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    I’ve heard about that series… I might have to rent it for some binge-viewing myself! It sounds ideal for this miserable weather.

Leave a Reply

