Wintergrass

The “Friday Sketchers” ad hoc outing was to sketch at Wintergrass, a local bluegrass festival.  There certainly was a lot of jamming in the hall ways!

One of the people leaving this jam session looked at my sketch and said, “oh, that’s a good likeness of Ian.  He’s an old beatnik”.  I was pleased she could recognize him!

My first sketch of the day…. a concertina player in the lobby playing by himself.  He got up and moved but I had enough done that I could finish it.

Bass player in a jam session…. just drew her.

Here’s the group!

L to R:  Gordon, me, Angie, Lynn, John, Tina, Francisco, Rachel, Wanda (a friend of mine visiting from Portland).  Angie and her father, Francisco, were new today!  Welcome!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wintergrass

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Great sketches, Kate! The bass player in braids… I sketched her from the back!

  2. LucyJartz says:

    I like the group pic with all the sketchbooks. It looks like so much fun.

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks. Sharing sketches at the end of an outing together and then a group photo are the standard practices of Urban Sketchers groups. It is a lot of fun to meet, get to know and go out sketching with other people.

      • LucyJartz says:

        The city limit sign coming into town says “Population 264.” I think I will have to wander further afield for something cool like this. Thanks for sharing your day out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

