Good Bones

I spent all day yesterday in Stephanie Bower’s three session workshop, “Good Bones”   I attended the first one a month ago, missed the second due to another commitment.  This one, the third in the series, was about adding watercolor to our sketches.  I’ve been using watercolor (again) for 2 years.  I was challenged to paint watercolor sketch using pencil lines only, not drawing in ink first.  I also used only the triad of primary colors with which we worked during the classroom section of the day.  While I didn’t really like my results, it was an excellent learning experience.  The main take aways from the day were blocking out shapes first and preserving the white areas of the paper.  During the classroom session, I learned more about how to mix warm and cool grays.  I was pleased to learn that a darker, nearly black, wasn’t possible with this particular triad.  Pleased, because I was having trouble getting it darker!  the Triad was Cobalt Blue, Permanent Alizarin Crimson and Nickel Azo
yellow).  She said to use ultramarine blue to get a darker value.

Another version of Rachel the pig greets visitors to Pike Market Downunder.

A hurried second sketch done of some outside stairs near Pike Market

This was a wonderful experience that I would recommend in future. The next session in 2 weeks is full but she might teach it again.  Stephanie is an excellent teacher.  She always finds something to praise in a sketch.  And even with sketches that look nearly perfect to me, she finds something to suggest to make it even better.   Her review sessions don’t feel like critiques but a discussion of helpful hints and suggestions.

Stephanie Bower reviews and discusses sketches done on location in Pike Market for Good Bones 3 workshop

Stephanie Bower Pike Market demo… stages of the painting: #2

A few more photos from the day are here.

I follow her blog and flickr streams. But there is nothing like seeing the original work.  To that end…. Stephanie’s show opens March 6  here in Seattle.   It is an exhibit of her work from 3 months in France on the 2013 Gabriel Prize.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Bones

  1. Kate, what a wonderful post–thank you so very much!!
    S

  2. Tina Koyama says:

    Thanks for the workshop review! I’m inspired and can’t wait for my turn in a couple weeks!

    – Tina

Leave a Reply

