Ireland

It’s turned into a beautiful day.  But I’m not going out to sketch as I’ve had a very painful knee for several days.  I’m using some treatments that are working and it feels much better today.  But I don’t want to push it too much.  I’ve walked about 10 miles already this week and it got worse.  So a couple days of rest are in order.

Thus, I’m still painting from photos.  This is from one I took in 1978 in County Galway, Ireland showing a rainbow over fields with dry stone walls.  I’m trying out a pad of 5×7 inch Fabriano 140# hot press paper.  I didn’t think I liked hot press.  But I did enjoy painting on this.

During the academic year of 1977-1978, I studied in England, at Leeds.  During that time I took 2 trips to Ireland.

One was a backpacking trip in December during which I stayed in Youth Hostels and traveled with another student.  On the ferry from England to Ireland I was questioned aggressively by the police about whether I was carrying anything for someone, why I was going to Ireland (asked several times in different ways), whether I knew anyone in Ireland, etc.  This was during the height of the “troubles” in Ireland.  I was dressed in my hiking (walking, in British English) rain jacket, jeans, boots and carrying a backpack.

The second time was with my mother in the spring.  I was better dressed and using a suitcase as we would be renting a car.  I was also with my (then) 67 year old mother.  Not a single question was asked of me when we boarded the ferry.  That’s what I call profiling!

And our rental red Ford Fiesta was broken into while parked at night on the street.  The B&B owner said the IRA liked to steal that kind of car to use as a car bomb.  Oh, great, now they tell us!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

