MOHAI again

I went to MOHAI again today to meet some friends for lunch and show them the Draw to Seattle exhibit.  

As I walked to the bus stop, it was pouring rain.  By the time I got to central Seattle, it had stopped.  I took the trolley over to MOHAI.  The entire journey from Southcenter took 1.5 hours.

But as I came up out of the bus tunnel to the sidewalk near the Nordstrom’s mothership, I found something new. Did you know Seattle has a “Walk of Fame”?  Even my friends, one of whom grew up here, didn’t know about it.  It’s along the sidewalk near the corner of 6th Avenue and Pine Street.

Here is what I found (on Facebook) about it:
“In 1998, when Nordstrom Inc. moved its flagship store to a historical building in the heart of downtown Seattle, we created a series of bronze footprints placed in the sidewalk surrounding our store honoring individuals who, through talent and fortitude, helped shape Seattle’s history. We currently have 24 honorees who have made significant contributions to the Seattle community including: Quincy Jones, Jimi Hendrix, Ken Griffey Jr., Michelle Akers, Ruby Chow, Paul Allen and Bill Gates to name a few.”

A few more photos are here.

Lunch was good.  The Compass Cafe has very tasty food.  We had good conversation though there was some sad news about other friends.

My friends left about an hour after lunch. Since it was again pouring rain, I decided it would be a good time to do some sketching.  I sat in the cafe with some coffee and sketched the old MOHAI clock through the window.  Just as I finished the watercolor, a staff member came out to change the time for DST!  That would have been a cool sketch, to add him into it.

I didn’t think I’d be participating in the Urban Sketchers weekly theme.  But on the way home on the light rail train, I had an opportunity for a couple sketches.  The theme is Quick Timed Sketches.   These were just a minute or two.  I didn’t actually time them.

This young student was playing a game on his phone or device.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

