But it’s Wednesday!

Here is a Museum of Flight sketch and it’s not even Thursday!  I went for a members’ talk, called “Coffee with the Curator”.  Dan Hagadorn gave a presentation about the new G. Harry Stein collection of model rockets.   Photos from the talk and a bit more are here.

I’d noticed this view of airplane back ends.  It’s at the far end of the Great Gallery Well.  I went in early so I’d be able to sketch it before the talk.

In case you can’t read the notes on the sketch:
1.  Canadair CL-13B Sabre Mark VI from 1954
2 Grumman F9F Cougar from 1955; Navy “Jet Cat”
3 Douglas A-4F Skyhawk II from 1967; shown in the livery of the Air Force Blue Angels
4 Sikorsky (USA) HH-52A Seaguard Helicopter from 1963; “the flying lifeboat”

Here’s a photo with my kit on the vent, where I saw to sketch.

For years I drove by Boeing field on my way to work and wondered why there seemed always to be an AWACS parked at Boeing field.  AWACS stands for Airborne Warning and Control System   Once I started volunteering for the Museum of Flight, a Docent (who was probably retired from Boeing as it seems many, if not most, of them are) told me that it’s a “test bed” for new developments.  Lately, it’s been parked next to the fence just off the street.  I’ve wanted to sketch it for weeks.  It’s been cold and rainy so the only option was sketching from the car and I could never get a good parking spot from which to view it.  Today, however, the weather was perfect and I finally got my AWACS sketch!  Notice that clear, bright, blue sky!

This part of the Boeing facilities is formally called Boeing Defense, Space & Security.  It is in their secure aircraft parking area that the Blue Angels keep their jets when they visit Seattle to perform.  Notice the concertina wire that tops the fence!

I sat on the stool on the sidewalk to sketch.  I was a little bit concerned I might be asked to leave.  It’s a secure area but I was outside the fence.  At a recent sketch outing, some sketchers were talking about having been asked to leave places they’ve sketched.  We sort of joked that you’re not a “real” Urban Sketcher until you’ve been kicked out of a place.  I never have been so I was almost hoping security would come talk to me. Several Boeing trucks drove by but no one stopped.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But it’s Wednesday!

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    Interesting post! It’s nice when you can finally get a sketch of something you’ve had your eye on… and you sure couldn’t have found a better day! (Not this week, anyway… the clouds are coming back tomorrow.)

Leave a Reply

