Day at the Beach!

This was the best Spring day yet in the Seattle area!  It was about 70 degrees, the warmest day so far.

I was planning to go to Georgetown to catalog some places to sketch for the Seattle Urban Sketcher’s outing later this month.  But I forgot my reference maps at home.  I realized this when I was almost at the exit off the I-5.  I thought about where else I could go and decided to go to Alki Beach in West Seattle.  It was an excellent decision.  The beach
was beautiful.

This was the first day for sun protection:  I needed both my straw hat and sun screen lotion!  My arms started to turn pink as I sat sketching!  I had the foresight to toss my hat in the car.

I did two sketches from the same spot but looking in opposite directions.  The first one is a relaxing view of Puget Sound and the Olympic mountains in the distance.  A woman sits on the beach, reading.

In the other direction is the city, with the Space Needle and houses in the distance.  The beach is full of people and there is a paddle boarder on the water.

While sketching, I met the authors of Seattle Stairway Walks.  Cathy & Jake Jaramillo stopped to ask, “are you one of the Sketchers?”.  They had seen Gabi’s exhibit at MOHAI!

All the photos are here.  But here are a few.  This is the spot where Seattle began.  There are more photos and details of the monument in the album.

Everything is blooming!

Walked from the West Seattle Metropolitan Market to a bridge on Admiral Way to get this view:

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day at the Beach!

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    What a day! Great sketches and photos of your day in the sun! I went to the zoo! I think everyone who could went outside today.

Leave a Reply

