Danny Woo Garden

Seattle Urban Sketchers met at the Panama Hotel tea room in the International District.  However, the weather was so beautiful, most of us sketched in the Danny Woo Community Garden across the street.

It was a perfect spring day.  I dressed for the 40 degrees it was when I left home to take the light rail into town.  On the top of the hill in the garden in full sun, I took off two layers and was enjoying the warmth in just my t shirt.

The views between the trees from the hill were spectacular.  I sketched a bit of the pea patch with the clock tower of King St. Station in the distance.

Then just a quick sketch of a stone lantern found further up the hill, outside the pea patch area.

There were 10 of us today, sharing sketches after.  All photos of sketchers are here

Sharing our sketches in the Panama Hotel lobby

Besides the two sketches, I took a lot of photos around the garden and then as I walked to the waterfront area.   They are all here.

Panama Hotel on Main St. It has been designated as a National Historic Landmark. The hotel is significant for its association with the immigration of Japanese to the USA. I also has one of only two surviving Japanese public bathhouses in the country.

Since I was already in the city center, I rode another 2 stops on the rail in order to walk down to the waterfront to see Stephanie Bower’s exhibit, “Sketches of Paris”   http://www.stephaniebower.com/

It was wonderful!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

