Norwescon

I’m back from 4 days at Norwescon.  Wanda drove up from Portland to go with me and we shared a room.  We got back to my home Sunday afternoon.  I’m still catching up on 4 days with no internet!  The hotel offered free wifi but the bandwidth was so poor it took more than 5 minutes to connect to anything so I gave up on that Thursday night!

This is my thumbnail summary page

Thursday’s thumbnail is a woman in authentic Viking garb.  I attended a panel about Viking clothing and those people really knew their stuff.  The next one is Friday on which I depicted the old car out in front of the diner where we like to eat, which is across the street from the Con hotel.  Next is Saturday, which displays a bit of geek humor.  Below the room number 404 is a handwritten note, “Room not found”.  Last is Sunday, which shows an egg atop a thermostat in the hall.  The Con ran an Easter Egg hunt for the kids attending.

I didn’t take as many photos around the Con because my 2nd best camera, the Canon G12, had to be sent for repair.  I didn’t want to haul around the big DSLR, so I only took photos with my Nexus 5.  They are all here.

I attended 4 different art panels.  Two were discussions and two were figure drawing sessions with costumed models, some of whom I knew!  This is my favorite of the group and it’s a sketch of someone with whom I acquainted from the SCA and other fan-doms.

My second favorite was of a woman who wasn’t in costume at all.

I had a lot of difficulty with this paper.  It is Fabriano 90 pound cold press.  My usually fast drying Carbon black ink wasn’t.  So I was fighting with the paper to be able to sketch quickly during the 20 min poses.  As can be seen in this one, the ink smeared in a very unattractive manner:

Finally is this portrait of Victoria, though it doesn’t quite look like her:

A couple photos.  Since I was using the phone camera, I tried a selfie.  This is Wanda and me (I’m at left) as we were leaving for the Con.

My Friday hall costume was somewhat obscure.

It is base on the “momma” Grimm from the TV show Grimm.  Even those who asked what I was didn’t know it as they never saw the show.  Ah, well.  I like it.

The Author Guest of Honor for Norwescon 38 in 2015 is George R.R. Martin, of Game of Thrones fame.  He was invited in 2012 and replied (paraphrasing what we were told)” Can’t do it this year.  Not in 2013, nor 2014. How’s 2015?”  So there it is.  I expect the attendance for next year will spike but I already have my tickets.  One of the volunteer staff at reservation said they expected to be sold out prior to the start of the Con next year.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Photography, Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Norwescon

  1. Tina Koyama says:

    I was wondering what you’ve been up to! Very nice figure sketches. Looks like the con was a lot of fun. That’s really strange about the Fabriano 90 lb. I’ve used Fabriano cold press 140 lb, and I didn’t notice any problems with ink not drying. I did have that problem with Arches.

  2. redharparts says:

    It would help if I kept better records on the paper I’m using. This might have been the new “soft press” that I tried on recommendation of DS staff. I’ll compare it to what is left and if it is, it’s gone!

Leave a Reply

