Sketches and more

In retrospect, it would have been better to go out sketching in the morning rather than doing errands then.  After my eye surgery follow up appointment, my right pupil was so dilated it was uncomfortable to be out in the very bright sun we had today.  Still, I did 3 sketches!  After the appointment, I drove over to the Bellevue Botanical Garden but there is still a vast amount of construction going on.  Between that and my dilated eye, I decided to just go home.

Jane LaFazio showed us her sketchbooks in Sketchbook Skool.  She showed how a page torn from a Strathmore Visual Journal can be fit into a disc notebook system.  I decided to give that another try.  I went to Staples this am to look at the Arc system again.  What I bought was a Martha Stewart brand folder.  As much as I dislike her brand, this one best fit my needs.  The cover was a very supportive board but not the puffy leatherette of the Arc.  It also had a strap like a Moleskine to hold it closed.

With a piece of spiral bound sketchbook watercolor paper in it:

After lunch, it was off to the doctor.  I got there early, so I did these two sketches.  One was just the ivy covered hill and part of a tree as I sat in the parking lot listening to the end of a podcast.

Next is the reception desk and the sign/logo for the practice.  Urban Sketcher’s weekly theme is billboards and signs.

Once home I put on two pairs of sunglasses and a hat to do a spot of gardening.  The irises are almost ready to bloom.  There are 2 lilac blooms opening.  I tied up the bleeding heart and then cut a couple branches to put in a vase.

I sketched the bleeding heart in the vase.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

