Skool and Sketch books

This week’s Sketchbook Skool has Roz Stendahl showing us how she sketches animals.  What with the rain and the lack of animals in my vicinity, I chose another option.  She showed us that during adverse weather she sketches from her large collection of realistic toy animals.  I only have one.  Well, realistic, not really.  But it is a very realistic mythical creature!  I give you the Red Dragon.

I often mull over the configuration of my sketch book(s).  It’s been over 2 years and I still have not decided what is an optimal system.  I vacillate a lot.

In another interesting discussion in Sketchbook Skool, Roz Stendahl showed her system of using pages of spiral bound watercolor paper held in a disc binder.  She also uses single sheets and the keeps them in a small folder, without any binding.    I’m thinking I could use that Sorta notebook to hold the sheets and then remove them to the folder to store.

While looking for such a small folder at a store, I came across this binding system.  It does not require a binding machine to close the rings.  They open and close like a zipper. You can easily add and remove pages.  Much less expensive than a disk binding system.  Still might need a punch, though.

Here is a video on how it works.   The store only had 1/2 inch and 5/16 inch sizes.  The largest is 5/8 inch, available on-line,  but one has to buy a pack of 50.  I could test the system with a 10 pack of 1/2 inch, which I can get in a local store.

I didn’t find a folder in the size I want.  I have a couple other places to try.  Gabi was saying on Saturday that he now does his sketches for the newspaper on large (11×14) single sheets of watercolor paper.

On another note, I zeroed in on this sketchbook in an art store because of the use of “USK”, which is how Urban Sketchers shortens the name of the organization.  I sent the image to a Board member, who indicated they were aware the company is selling them.  They were originally a give-away at the last USK symposium.   There is no other imprint or logo on the book itself.  Urban Sketchers also doesn’t have a trademark for USK.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Journal, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skool and Sketch books

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Very interesting post! I like that you experiment with so many different sketchbook and binding options — I think it’s great to try a lot of ideas until you find just the right thing. Roz is always full of creative ideas. I got one of those “USK” sketchbooks in Barcelona and assumed it was custom-made just for the symposium. Weird that they are selling them… seems like the acronym USK would be meaningless unless you’re already an urban sketcher.

Leave a Reply

