Snoqualmie

Today was predicted to be the best weather of the week.  I decided it would be a good day for a personal sketch outing to Snoqualmie.  This is a small town about 45 minutes east of
Seattle.  It’s major attaction is the 268 feet high Snoqualmie Falls.  All the photos are here

Puget Sound energy generates electricity from the power of the falls.  They have renovated this viewing area and added a new, lower, one.

Right next to it is the Salish Lodge.  “The Snoqualmie Falls Lodge was an eight-room inn built back in 1916 as a rest stop for travelers. It quickly became famous for its country breakfasts – multi-course meals that nourished visitors before they journeyed over the mountain pass.  In 1988 the building was completely remodeled and reopened as the Salish Lodge. (Out-of-towners may recognize the Salish as the setting for “Twin Peaks,” the David Lynch TV mystery series.)”

I completed four sketches.  My first attempt was from a very misty viewpoint.  It was as though I was attempting a watercolor in the rain.  I gave up.

Next is a view of the foot bridge that gives access to the falls area from a large parking lot.  Crossing the busy highway with very large trucks would be dangerous for all the tourists.  I arrived about 9am.  But 11:30, the lots were filling up fast and this was mid-week!

I did get a sketch of part of the falls.  As Tina calls it:  my “nemisis” is water!

I then drove down to the lower viewing area.  It was again too wet to sketch the view of the falls.  The power station was also newly renovated.  A worker I encountered told me these penstocks are newly built as well.  I had to sketch this impressive piece of engineering.

I drove down to the town to walk around a bit.  I saved sketching the historic depot for another time.  I did do a quick sketch of an old engine with a volunteer working on it.  A photography who came by took a look at what I was doing and asked, “Are you famous?”  Wow, what a question.  “No, I’m not.  I just do this as a hobby”.

All in all, a good day out!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snoqualmie

  1. These are great sketches of an area I haven’t been to for a long time. Thanks for sharing

  2. miatagrrl says:

    I haven’t been to Snoqualmie in several years — I had no idea all those renovations had occurred. Great sketches! It’s good to have a sketching nemesis. 😉

Leave a Reply

