MOHAI again

This afternoon I did my second stint as “sketcher in residence” at MOHAI.  This is part of the continuing exhibit by Urban Sketchers founder and the “Seattle Sketcher: Gabriel Campanario.  The exhibit is called “Drawn to Seattle: The Work of Seattle Sketcher” 

Each Saturday one of us is there to demonstrate sketching, encourage others and provide information.  There were not many visitors, perhaps because it was a very pleasant day outside.  I did have some discussion with a couple visitors and two young women sketched for a few minues.  I also met a watercolor artist who came down from further north to see the exhibit.  She is Michelle Cooper.   She sketches with the Anacortes Sketchers.  Coincidentally, Ingrid, one of her students, was there also.

I did 2 sketches myself.  The first was outside, before my scheduled time.  Center for Wooden Boats volunteers were offering model sailing boats to sail on the pond for a donation.

I worked very slowly on this next sketch.  Since traffic was very light in the gallery, I decided to stay inside and interact with the few who came through.  This is a view out one of the gallery windows.

On the way back to the light rail station, I stopped to get this image of Space Needle, monorail tracks with the train moving away.

Ah.  WordPress informs me this is my 500th post!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MOHAI again

  1. miatagrrl says:

    500 posts! Thanks for sharing your sketches and photos so regularly! I enjoy them all.

  2. Hi, Kate, so nice to meet you at MOHAI last weekend. I still plan on joining you all soon. Telling my students to get over there and see the show before it’s over and to check your calendar for meet-ups. Thank you for linking to my website. 🙂 I am giving you my blog address as well. http://michelecooper.blogspot.com. (I post there more often than on my website) Michele Cooper

Leave a Reply

