Sketching in Georgetown

That would be Georgetown, a neighborhood of Seattle, WA!

We really lucked out on the weather for Seattle Urban Sketchers outing to Georgetown.  We met at All City Coffee, just off Airport Way.  I’d done a photo map with locations further afield, near the Hat and Boots.   We dispersed and then regrouped 2.5 hours later.

I went straight to the Rock House on Flora Ave.  I will return to sketch other views, but I liked the arched entry.

Then I went a couple blocks over to sketch the traffic circle at Warsaw & Carleton, just next to the Carleton Ave. Grocery.  Valerie & Diedra were just leaving.  They warned me about the tight cornering of the bus as it maneuvers through the traffic circle.  I stepped back from the curb each time one went by, with it’s rear wheels just inches from the curb.  Marianne stopped to look at what I was doing.  She told me she lives in a house down the street that has been in her family for a century.  I’ll have to go sketch it next time!

I started this sketch of the Fantagraphics building before the outing started and finished adding color after.  It might not be obvious, but there is a “Dog on Duty” in the upper left window!  Or so the sign says.

There were 18 of us with, I think; 8 first-timers and one out-of-town visitor.  Gail had to leave early so she’s not in the photo.

We shared our sketches on a bench outside the coffee shop.

All my photos from the day are here. 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketching in Georgetown

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Looks like it was a terrific gathering!

Leave a Reply

