Roslyn

What with the beautiful weather we’re having, I decided to take a day trip somewhere to sketch.  I chose Roslyn, WA.  It is a small mountain town of about 800 people east of Seattle.  It is know as   “Where coal was king”.  Roslyn was founded with the discovery of coal and the coming of the Northern Pacific Railroad in 1886.

The town’s more recent claim to fame is that it is where the  exteriors were filmed for the TV series Northern Exposure (1990-1995). Many of the homes and offices used in the show remain and are occupied today.

So my two sketches today were of icons from that show.  There is certainly a lot more to sketch in town and it warrants another trip.

The Roslyn Cafe, in front of which a moose strolled during the opening sequence of the show (Roslyn was the exterior sets for the fictional town of Cicily, Alaska).  I spent about 2 hours on this sketch, about half of it was just on the elaborate sign on the side of the building.  The sign on the pick up truck bed is a bit of photo collage.

A couple passed by me twice and greeted me each time.  We exchanged pleasantries.  I noticed the man wore a small pistol in a holster on his belt.

The Brick, the oldest continuously operating tavern in the State of Washington.  The Coke sign is a bit of photo collage.

As I sat in the hot sun next to the City Offices, across the street from the Brick, I heard a horse whinny.   I looked up to see a horse trailer across the street.  Next I heard the jingle of spurs.  Ya-up.  We’re in the country.

There are some photos about town here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roslyn

  1. Judi Nyerges says:

    I LOVE these!!! I LOVE that show! I LOVE the old set buildings in Rosslyn! What a fun trip! Good for you.

  2. delimaf says:

    Excellent sketches! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

