Fort Nisqually

Fort Nisqually is hosting a summer series called Crafts of the Past. Today was a particular interest of mine:  Historical Illustration and Calligraphy.  It was also beautiful weather for my first visit to this landmark.  I’d been there before, last year, but it was closed.  During the summer it is open daily.

Fort Nisqually, ” the first European settlement on Puget Sound, was a bustling center of trade that expanded into a large-scale agricultural enterprise. Established in 1833 by the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC), the original site was on the beach and plains above the Nisqually River delta in the present town of DuPont, Washington.  ”  In addition to excellent exhibits, there are volunteer re-enactors.

I first took a tour of the entire facility and made a photographic record.  I’ve culled 75 images down to 56 and they are all here.

The demo I went to see was done by Alan Archambault. From the Nisqually website: “He has been creating historical illustrations for more than 50 years. Before the advent of photography, images of places and events were often created by artists. Such illustrations are an important resource for historians. Alan, a former museum director, understands their significance and has worked to keep the craft alive. Alan is also
an accomplished calligrapher.”

After my walking tour and a break for my brownbag lunch, I brought out my sketch kit and stool to sketch a view of the fort.  Though it’s called a fort, it was never a military installation.  It was always owned by the Hudson Bay Company but was built for defense.

A bit of rusted plow in the foreground and a dug out canoe

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fort Nisqually

  1. delimaf says:

    Excellent, as always! The fort has so much history, as we can see through the photos taken. The sketch is very beautiful! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

