Laundry at the Fort

Another beautiful day at Fort Nisqually.  A friend is visiting from Portland and she saw my post and photos from last Sunday about my visit to the Fort.  So I took her there today.  Before I sat down to sketch, I went to the kitchen as I heard from the front desk staff person that a volunteer interpreter was there cooking.  I found Dana roasting coffee on the cast iron wood stove!  I had a delightful conversation with her.  So much so that I’m seriously thinking about volunteering there.  When she learned about my sketching, she suggested I could demonstrate that as a costumed interpreter.  Yay!

While my friend explored the fort, I sketched the laundry.  I labelled the sketch “Kitchen” as I must have had the kitchen on my brain.  But it really is the laundry building.

Later I had another conversation with the manager about volunteering.  He seemed willing to entertain the idea for demonstrating period sketch art.  He said there is a good reference book by “Cathy or Nancy or something Johnson”.   At the time, I wondered to myself, “could it be??”.   He didn’t have the entire book title correct, either.  After a bit of searching, I figured out that it is Cathy (Kate) Johnson of Artists Journal Workshop!  I love her work and I’ve been watching her videos.  The book is Living History: Drawing on the Past

Onward!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laundry at the Fort

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Wow, what perfect opportunity this would be for you — bringing together your love of both history and sketching!

Leave a Reply

