While at a seminar

I attended a seminar today at South Seattle Community College.  It fulfilled a new requirement for my license **.  I noticed the building would fit the Urban Sketchers weekly theme of “Glass/steel/concrete modern architecture”.  So I sketched in stages.  I finished the drawing in the few minutes before the start of the program.  Then I had about 40 minues at lunch to work on the color.  I finished a few final touches after the program ended.  I didn’t sketch during the seminar as it was fairly intense and I needed to stay involved in the lecture and discussions.

South Seattle seems to offer education in the trades.  I noticed the next building over was labeled as “Trowel Trades Training”!  I also didn’t find out anything more about the sculpture despite doing a web search.  The sculptor’s website doesn’t say anything about it.

 

** “Assessing and Managing Suicide Risk”.  New state law requires all mental health professionals (and, more recently, MD’s, RN’s etc) to have several hours of such education every few years.  Not that I didn’t have something like this every year over the course of at least 10 years while working at VA!  But that doesn’t count toward fulfilling the terms of the new law! I didn’t expect to actually learn much new but I’ll say I did gain some ideas about how to approach the assessment.  It was a very good workshop.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to While at a seminar

  1. delimaf says:

    Excellent, as always! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

