Farmers Market

I was inspired by a sketch Judi shared.  All on one page are small sketches done in the same location.  They are vignettes of the place.  I went to the Farmers Market today with the resolve to try that approach.  In the past, I’ve been too intimidated by the jumble of stuff to sketch the whole scene.

I need to work on my lettering, though.  Can you believe I used to do decent calligraphy?  Yikes.  I watched Cathy (Kate) Johnson’s video where she does some nice captions with a water brush!

I didn’t buy any vegetables.  I took a rose hip to the Master Gardeners for diagnosis.  It had an odd, bright orange, crust on it.  Fortunately, there was only one hip on the entire bush with it.  They were stumped.  They are sending it to the WA Extension lab!

I also bought more tea from Shen Zen Tea.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Farmers Market

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I like this montage technique, too! I agree, lettering is difficult. Maybe use an italic nib instead of a brush. . . ?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.