Aquarium

The adhoc Friday Sketchers of Urban Sketchers Seattle met at the Aquarium today.  It was a cold, gray wet day.  In between sprinkles, some of us tried to sketch outside.  Inside, it was a challenge to get a spot to sketch as we were in competition with what seemed like hundreds of school children.  I wanted to sketch the starfish pool but it was too crowded and too noisy!

I got to the sea otter area before there were too many small visitors.  One otter was sleeping and seemed to be a furry lump.  The other floated on her back and played with a bright blue toy.

I had to get out of the noise and crowd so sketched a fountain, the viaduct and skyline as seen from outside the aquarium.

We shared our sketches on a ledge just inside the building.

Then we went outside for our usual group photo, with the Great Wheel in the background.  Ann had to leave early but I think she’s the only one missing.

Back row: Carleen, Nilda, Lynne, Nancy, Sue, Chris   Front row: Peggy, Tina, Kate

Otters are my favorite wild animal.  I managed a couple images through the thick glass of their enclosure.  Here’s an otter butt, or “otter yoga” as one dad called it!

All the photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

