What’s Cooking?

Fort Nisqually had a special event today, “What’s Cooking”.  It is a day of 19th century cooking and a cooking contest.  As a prospective volunteer, I was invited to attend, talk with the other volunteers and observe.

I did only one sketch.  This is the cart with extra plants from their garden which the let the public take for a donation.

I kicked myself as I drove home that I didn’t sketch the cooking but I was so involved with talking with them!  I met the costume coordinator and sewing guild manager.  I had several interesting conversations with the costumed interpreters.  It’s made me feel even more eager to get started!

Celebrity guest cook Paula Marcoux, food historian and author of Cooking with Fire was there demonstrating cooking and also gave a lecture.  She is an archeologist by training.

The rest of the photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s Cooking?

  1. miatagrrl says:

    So cool, Kate! When do you start??

    • redharparts says:

      Oh, I don’t know. I have to attend a one day training, which they say won’t be until Aug or Sept. Though I might get involved with sewing guild before that.

  2. Joan T says:

    Kate, I decided to put your blog in my “links” list so I can visit more often. I miss a lot of your sketches on flickr.com. I love the ease of your sketches. Great job!

Leave a Reply

