Duck Hunt

Renton River Days has a rubber duck as the mascot/logo.  They have a Duck Hunt contest every year.  In previous years, one followed clues to find large, costumed, Rubber Ducks placed in local businesses.  This year, they are posting location clues and then we must take a photo of ourselves (selfie) and/or a rubber duck in that location.  So I was looking for a classic yellow rubber duck.  It seemed I’d seen them everywhere but yesterday I couldn’t find one!

I did another web search and discovered the local Cost Plus has them.  They even have the huge, 8 inch tall duck that was used for the costumed duck contest in years past.   So I ran right out yesterday afternoon to get this big ducky.  I might yet make it a costume!  But I’ve started to take photos of it at the clue locations.

I even did a quick sketch in the pocket Moleskine at the first location, which was actually Clue #2.

There were two police officers parked in their SUVs in the vacant parking lot.  One car left.  The other officer stayed and turned the car around, seemingly to face me.  I thought he was watching what I was doing.  He never said anything so he probably knew about the duck hunt….  or a crazy old lady carrying a large rubber ducky seemed harmless enough!  🙂

Rotary also runs a fund raiser, called the Rubber Ducky Derby.  One buys numbered tickets.  The numbers are associated with a small rubber duck.  They release them into the local river during the festival week.  The first ones to the finish line win prizes for those holding the numbered tickets.  It’s lots of fun to watch!

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Uncategorized, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Duck Hunt

  1. delimaf says:

    Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

