If you use Moleskine….

….tock up on the old books.  Liz Steel wrote a lengthy review of her comparisons of the old and new Moleskine watercolor sketchbook.  I have read other reviews that have the opinion that the new paper is not an improvement.

Moleskine is not my favorite sketchbook.  If I want to use that format (about 8’x5′, hard-bound, landscape orientation), I use the Pentalic Aqua.  But I do use the Moleskine pocket watercolor book as my every-day-carry in my purse sized kit.

moleskine

 

I’ve not yet seen the new books for sale here.  But since I’d heard of this problem, I bought out the local Aaron Brothers stock of the pocket book when they had a 50% off sale that included the Moleskine.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If you use Moleskine….

  1. delimaf says:

    Thanks for the useful hints, as always! 🙂

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Liz’s review was very thorough and informative. I’m glad I don’t use Moleskine anymore so I don’t have to go through the panic that others are going through! Of course, paper surfaces are very personal, so if you tried the new book, you might find you actually like it better.

Leave a Reply

