Parsons Gardens on the 4th of July

The Urban Sketchers Seattle Friday Ad Hoc group decided to hold a sketch outing on Independence Day.  We didn’t know how many would be available to attend but there were 13 of us today!

I’d never been to this section of Queen Ann.  Kerry Park has been on my want-to-sketch list for a while as it has a classic view of Seattle and the sound.  I left early so I could stop there prior to our meeting a few blocks away at the small Parsons Park.  Tina had the same idea as I ran into her there!

After we met at Parsons Gardens   I did a bit of a walk about, looking for something that sparked my sketching interest.  I liked this old fashioned light post and the knarled tree next to it.


Next I sat on a bench in Marshal Park (across the street), talking with Gloria, while I sketched this view of the sound, a street bridge and the Olympic mountains beyond.

We gathered for sharing, as usual

and the group photo.

After, a few of us sat on a bench for lunch in Marshal Park, since we had to leave Parsons Garden due to it being reserved for a wedding.  Then 4 of us continued walking around and found more sketch venues.   This seeming bridge is actually the support for the sidewalk above.

I also made several images of this beautiful neighborhood.  All the photos are here.

All these, as well as the sketches from Port Townsend onward, have been in a Stillman & Birn Beta spiral bound sketchbook.  For some reason, I’m liking it better than the first couple times I used it.

Materials:  Stillman & Birn Beta sketchbook; Platinum Carbon black ink in Platinum Cool pen; Daniel Smith Watercolors

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

