Old Town Dock

The Tacoma Sketchers met at the relatively newly refurbished Old Town Dock on Commencement Bay for our July sketch outing.   One of our purposes was to see the Droplets installation by Chandler O’Leary.

I did find 21 of the 24, including the location of the stolen one.   Chandler said someone pried it out of it’s location but it probably broke in the process.  Well, duh.  I should have looked at the link I posted before I left.   Here is a chart of where they all are!

Chandler joined us for the beginning of the outing.  Here is her sketch kit next to one of the Droplets.

Besides hunting down Droplets, I did manage a couple sketches.  The first looked north from the dock to where 2 merchant ships were moored.

I also thought myself rather clever for how I positioned my palette and sketchbook.  I used some strong magnets to hold the palette to the one of the dock’s bolts.  I spread the fold of the book over the edge of the dock.  The kneaded eraser holds my cloth to the dock.

After more wandering, both in search of droplets and another interesting sketch subject, I sat near the water’s edge to sketch a portion of the dock.

As usual, we shared our sketches….

and then had a group photo


Group photo by Scott McElhiney (thanks Scott!)

All the photos I made are here.

Materials:  Stillman & Birn Beta sketchbook; Platinum Carbon black ink in Platinum Cool pen; Daniel Smith Watercolors

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies, Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

