Events in Seattle today

Because I have the good fortune that my time is my own, I decided on a whim this morning to take the train to SODO to sketch and document the opening of the first recreational marijuana store in Seattle, called “Cannabis City”.

I found it to be a media circus.  I think there were more reporters and photographers there then buyers waiting in line.  One 65y/o woman has gained local notoriety for being the first in line and I saw her there.  From the Seattle Times:  “First in line was Deborah Greene, a 65-year-old grandmother who arrived Monday afternoon with a trenta black iced tea lemonade from Starbucks, a roast beef sandwich, chips, a folding chair and a sleeping bag.”


I stayed across the street.  Made several photos and sketched the general scene.  Once done, I left.  I didn’t wait for the store opening.

While sketching on the street, I dropped the Pilot Metropolitan fine.  Nib bent beyond use.  Sigh.  At least it’s a cheap pen…. not ball point cheap, but cheap for a fountain pen. The Platinum Cool ran out of ink.  Good thing I had a disposable pen with me!  Triple redundancy.  I also have two pencils… one mechanical and one regular 2B.

Next on the day’s agenda was a trip to MOHAI to see the anchor from the HMS Chatham.

But first, I stopped just outside MOHAI in South Lake Union Park to do a sketch for the Urban Sketcher’s weekly theme, Patios.  This park has about a dozen tables and umbrellas, making it one huge patio.  Two of the many cranes are in view, as is the Space Needle.

The anchor was found by accident 6 years ago by a diver.  It was raised 9 June this year.  It was lost on 9 June 1792 in Admiralty Inlet.  It is hand forged iron weighing about 1400-1500 pounds.  It is 10 feet long.  Each link of chain weighs 9 pounds.  There is some controversy over whether this is that anchor but the team has convinced NOAA experts so it will be shipped off for more study and cleaning for display.  Here is another article.

Scott Grimm was there doing recorded interviews prior to his talk tonight at the Museum.   

While I sketched the anchor, it occurred to me this is like the “sketching toast” assignment from Sketchbook Skool!  It was hard to see as it was underwater and there was a lot of reflection interfering with seeing the crud on the anchor.

A MOHAI staff member came up and asked whether I was one of the Urban Sketchers who’d been involved in the recent exhibit there.  I said I was.  She took a photo of me sketching the anchor.

Edit 16 July:  I’m on TV!  I can be seen a couple times in this piece about the anchor from Evening Magazine on the local NBC affiliate.  I’m wearing a blue T shirt and straw hat.

It took me about 1.5 hours to get home via the train and bus.  I elected not to go to the Farmers Market.  Then I saw that Cisco Morris had been there.  Oh, well!

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Events in Seattle today

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Excellent day of reportage sketching and nice patio scene! Sorry to hear about your Metro. . . that’s exactly what happened to one of mine — dropped and bent beyond repair. I’ve also ruined a Sailor that way. (Urban sketching occupational hazard, I guess.) I saved my barrels and caps for parts, though (like old car parts in the back of the garage!).

  2. Your post has inspired me to hop on the Sounder train at Mukilteo for a fun day sketching and getting the latest update of happin’s in Seattle.

Leave a Reply

