2nd Annual West Coast USk Sketchcrawl

The 2nd Annual USk West Coast Sketchcrawl was held in Portland, OR.  It coincides with the 44th World Wide Sketchcrawl Day.  There were about 100 people.

Since I was up early, I took the streetcar over to our meeting location in time to meet the first of the Portland group.  I brought the name tags I’d made and everything was set up and ready.

My first, and favorite, sketch of the day was the lower portion of the 1st Congregational Church.

Next I sketched the Shemanski Fountain.  There was a very large event happening in the Park Blocks where we were:  “The World Domination Summit“.   Food trucks were coming in and there was one already set up near the fountain.

We met at noon to share our sketches.  The books filled 3 large tables. We also had a group shot, a copy of which I hope to find on line later.  The Oregonian article, below, has a low resolution group photo.

I wandered up to the Farmers Market, getting lunch along the way.  The WDS people seemed to flood the Market at the same time so I figured I wouldn’t get lunch there.  I wandered back, feeling drained by the 90+ degree heat.  I settled in the shade to sketch the front of the Museum.

By the time I finished that, I was feeling a bit ill.  I sought the air conditioned shelter of the Museum cafe and a cold drink.  After about a half hour, I mustered a bit of energy for one last sketch.  But it was from inside the cafe, looking through the window at a sculpture.

We met at 4pm to again share our work.

It was a fun event which I very much enjoyed. The heat sapped my energy a little, though. I would go again. The energy of so many sketchers was exciting.  So much art!  I met several people and talked at length with a few.  It’s hard to get to know a group of 100, though!

Just one non-sketching photo.  Keep Portland Weird.  The flaming bag piper on a unicycle showed up to entertain/pose for the World Domination group.  He’s kinda famous, especially on YouTube.

The Oregonian sent a reporter/photographer.  While it didn’t make the Sunday paper, they did put coverage on the website.

 All my photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2nd Annual West Coast USk Sketchcrawl

  1. Vicky says:

    Kate, I’ve really enjoyed looking at your sketches and photos and reliving the fun of this weekend. I’m so sorry you weren’t feeling well from the heat. You certainly rallied and accomplished some lovely sketches, though.
    I’m so glad you were part of the sketch crawl.
    (Portland was weirder than usual this weakend, and you’ve got the proof.)

  2. I love this. Makes me realize I have to participate in sketch crawls.

  3. Joan T says:

    How great that you had so many people! We were happy with 17 on Saturday. I guess ours was a more manageable size and we do get to know each other…sort of like your regular group. Super sketches like always!!

  4. miatagrrl says:

    Nice sketches and report of the events. Wow, I wish more than ever that I could have gone! I know what you mean about the heat… I felt the same way after being outdoors all day for Shari’s workshop.

Leave a Reply

