Travel sketching demo

I just love Daniel Smith!  Last night at 10pm I was commenting back and forth with Deborah from DS.  I’d been so busy I’d not kept track of the good things happening at the local stores.  She told me about a Travel sketching demo today.

I thought I was going to be late because I was stopped in Georgetown by a freight train moving back and forth.  But I made it in time.

Maria Coryell-Martin demonstrated her tools & techniques for travel and field sketching with ink and watercolor.  Her website is Expeditionary Art

She is an excellent presenter!  I bet she would be a great teacher.  In the course of an hour, she got in all the basic information for a beginner in travel sketching.  She showed us her tools.  She got us trying some sketching exercises in gesture and contour drawing.  She went on to discuss why sketch rather than just take a photo?  A sketch of a subject allows us to focus closely on it for a period of time;  we can give it our own interpretation of colors; we can show our experience of the subject over time.   As others have, she also emphasized the importance of a thumbnails to test composition and to plan values.

In addition to being a wonderful artist and excellent presenter, she has designed a sketching kit.  I’ve seen this on various artist’s blogs over the course of a couple years.  I never realized she is local.  Here is her Art Toolkit

Holding her tiny watercolor palette.

On the left is the sketch kit she sells. On the right is the prototype she made herself for a new, smaller kit. Not available yet but it is in the works!

Display of her products and art.

Maria will be leading a sketch outing at the SAM Sculpture Park in August.  I plan to go.

Afterwards, I talked more with Deborah.  She explained there are 2 DS Facebook pages.  I need to find the one for the local stores as that’s how I’ve missed a couple interesting events.  She also showed me her software tools for managing social media.

More on why I love DS.  I think all the staff are artists.  They all know and use what DS sells.  I listened in on a staff member’s explanation to a customer about the difference between gouache and watercolor.  Wow!  He must have a degree in chemistry as well as art!

Then here are the helpful hints and tricks they share.   I learned another “Joe trick”   (Joe is the DS staff member who has all his sketching tools in a hunting vest.)  In order to save space, he uses only one water brush barrel.  He carries only the brushes and attaches them to the one barrel.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, KIt and Supplies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel sketching demo

  1. Deborah says:

    Hi Kate!
    Wonderful account of the demo today at DS! I have enjoyed reading your other informative posts about other demos you have come to. Glad you had a good time, learned a lot, and it was fun meeting you officially and talking with you today!
    Deborah @ DANIEL SMITH
    DANIELSMITHblog.com

  2. Joan T says:

    Great review of her demo. A few of the Urban Sketchers here have her palette and like it a lot. I’ve never attended any of the demos at our local DS store, but will have to check them out. Thanks for the info and links.

  3. Maria says:

    Hi Kate, thanks for coming to my demo! I enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you again. Happy sketching,
    Maria
    expeditionaryart.com

Leave a Reply

