Sketching Shilshoal Marina

Urban Sketchers Seattle met for our monthly sketch outing at Shilshoal Marina.  This is near Ballard, which is the center of past Scandinavian  immigrants in Seattle.  The Nordic Museum is only a few blocks away.  That explains the statue of Leif Erikson and the Rune Stones memorial around it.

I was one of several sketchers for whom Leif was a subject today.  I included the flag post to give it a sense of place, near the marina.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do for my next sketch.  I knew I didn’t want to sketch the forest of boat masts.  Eventually, I found a bit of garden with a part of an old fog light.

Stillman & Birn Beta (7×7 spiral); Platinum Carbon Black ink in a Platinum Cool Pen; Daniel Smith Watercolors

I added in the crow on the stump as I was visited by a number of them, especially after I offered them a portion of my snack!  There was much calling (“hey, she’s giving us food; come and get it!”).  They did come surprisingly close but this was shot with the limit of the telephoto on my Canon G12.

Orna is a  visitor from Urban Sketchers Israel today!

As is usual, we met to share sketches but didn’t get a real group photo.  A couple people took a wide shot while we looked at sketches so these may show up on the blog.

All photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

