Who knew?!

I certainly didn’t.  I know I’ve checked the Pentalic website but did not see this.  One of my favorite watercolor sketchbooks is the Pentalic Aqua 5×8 inches , which I’ve mentioned before.  (ooo…. that’s a good price at the link!).   I was in the University of Washington bookstore at the Tacoma campus today.  I saw a 3×5 inch version!

I’ve been buying up all the old style Moleskine pocket watercolor books I can find on sale (or with a coupon…. 50% off at Aaron Brothers!) because of Liz Steel’s review of the change that’s coming.  I use them in my tiny every-day-carry sketchkit that is always in my purse-like-Timbuk2-bag

The paper in the Pentalic Aqua is superior to Moleskine’s.  It’s 140 pound cold pressed watercolor.  Recently Jame Gurney posted that he contacted Pentalic and was told it is 100% cotton.

Compared to the Moleskine pocket watercolor book

+

It has more pages

This small version was $13 at the UW Tacoma bookstore.  UW Seattle is the only place in town to buy the 5×8 version but I’ve never noticed the 3×5 one there.

Update:  Received an email in reply to my question:  “Our smaller version Watercolor Sketch is still available (018033). I couldn’t find any sold online”.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who knew?!

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great find! I sure wish they made one in portrait format… I have a hard time holding landscape format books.

  2. redharparts says:

    Update: I received an email in response to my question: “Our smaller version Watercolor Sketch is still available (018033). I couldn’t find any sold online”

Leave a Reply

