Paraty Pity Party

The group of Friday ad hoc sketchers from Urban Sketchers Seattle met in the UW Medicinal Herb Garden.  It was a cool, gray day with flat light.  It even sprinkled rain a bit, near the end.

The International Urban Sketchers symposium is going on this weekend in Paraty, Brazil.  So I called this outing the “Paraty Pity Party” and made badges to wear and/or stick on a sketchbook!

We spread out around the several acres of garden.  I was thinking of the USk weekly theme “doors and gates” when I chose this spot.  It is the entry to the garden, guarded by crazy monkey sculptures.  I could not find anything on the internet about them.  The phone guide indicated they are copies of Italian sculptures which graced the 1st medicinal garden.  They are thought to protect the garden.

I then went back to the wild artichokes to sketch the fruit.  It looks hazardous!

We gathered in the garden/bus shelter out of the rain to share sketches.

Then we had a group photo.

Linda, Frances, Michele, Linda, Kate, Peggy H (seated), Gloria, Logan

All the photos are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paraty Pity Party

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Looks like it was a great outing! I was going to say “sorry to have missed it,” but I know you won’t believe me. 😉

  2. Elaine Pang says:

    Any pity party stickers left? I think I need one! Love your wild artichoke, by the way!

  3. Joan T says:

    I love that you had a Paraty Pity Party!!! We should have thought of that here in NYC. I love that you designed badges too…that’s the spirit. Super garden entrance and wild artichoke. Can you eat them like regular ones?

    • redharparts says:

      Thanks! The idea came from my experience in another group that always had a “Pity Party” event at the time of a large event in PA.

      I don’t know whether one can eat wild artichoke! I should have asked our resident expert gardener and RN!

Leave a Reply

