SBS Field Trip

Despite the fact that Sketchbook Skool is on-line, several Klassmates have made connections via Facebook.  A few of us from the Pacific Northwest met Saturday in Port Townsend to sketch and share.

I made some name tags since only a couple of us had met in person before.

We met at a coffee shop in the morning.  Nancy came the furthest…. from near Ashland, OR!  There were 3 from Seattle area, and a couple more from not too far from PT.  After we were all there, we shared some sketchbooks and made a plan for the day.

We went out sketching.  I’d already planned my first sketch.  This is a sculpture on the main street.  I found out later the locals call it “the Nut”.  During other visits to PT, I’ve been able to photograph a mountain through the hole but today there was a cloud bank.

 

After a couple hours, met for lunch on a sunny patio.  The weather could not have been better. Bright blue sky and a perfect temperature.  We passed around our sketchbooks from the morning.  The paintings and drawings were all so good!

Then more sketching in the afternoon.  I went down the street to the Wooden Boat foundation and sketched inside.  This is a replica boat under construction.

I’ve known Judi since we took a workshop together on Whidbey Island.  We shared a room in a delightful old hotel in town:  The Bishop Victorian Hotel.  After checking in, I had time for another sketch.  This is the historic Rose Theater.  It opened as a vaudeville house in 1907. In December 1908 the Rose moved to its current location in Taylor Street.

Some of us reconvened at 5pm to share more sketches and the art books we like.  The room Judi and I shared had plenty of space to host a few sketchers.

We had such a good time, we’re already planning another outing.

All my photos from the day are here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketchbook Skool, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SBS Field Trip

  1. What a fun sketching outing. Are you all taking the newest Sketchbook Klass together that will start soon? I’d love to sketch with your group but I don’t belong to Facebook any longer. I recognize J.N. who was a member of my painting group on Whidbey.

Leave a Reply

