Reconciliation Park

More on my long Saturday.  I still had a couple hours before I needed to be at Fort Nisqually for my volunteer shift during the Candlelight tours.  So I drove out of Tacoma looking for something more to sketch.  I’d always intended to stop at the Chinese Reconciliation Park, so today was the day!

The park aims to provide reconciliation and healing of the time when Tacoma expelled Chinese residents.  It shows the history of this event, which occured in 1885.  It is comprised of several structures.  Today, I chose to sketch the String of Pearls bridge.
I couldn’t find any further information about it.

Hinted at in the background are two Coast Guard Ships.  I’ve often wondered about these two ships.  I could see the name of the one of them so when I got home, I searched for it.  Isn’t the internet a wonderful thing?  The Cape Island Norfolk VA IMO 7390131 is a Coast
Guard freighter (previously the USNS Mercury, until November 1993) moored at the Ready Reserve Force location on Commencement Bay.  A local resident told me it went to the 1st Gulf War and also carried cargo for disaster relief.

A few photos of the park are here.

From here I went on to the Fort, where I worked in the kitchen until 11:30pm.  What a long day:  0900 to 2330!  No sketches there as there was no time.  I was there to do a job.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reconciliation Park

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Long and busy day, indeed! Really nice sketch of this bridge, which I have yet to see.

Leave a Reply

